Saturday, 30 October 2010

Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Pen copy of a John Singer Sargent painting of Atlas holding up the world.
Posted by Picasa

Sunday, 24 October 2010


Scrat from the Ice Age films. This is a copy of a drawing by Peter de Seve, who designed Scrat and many other characters in the film.
I recommend this short Scrat video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIZzpGLb7i4
The animation is brilliant! The guys doing the film did an amazing job capturing the character from the original sketches.

Let's see if anyone can recognise these two! Post your answers in the comments...
...
Yep, it's a drawing of Rihanna with Eminem.

Wednesday, 20 October 2010

So... this is the 4th day I'm missing. 2 of those I didn't draw at all. Bad I know.
I've got a drawing on the go which should be finished in the next couple of days...

Saturday, 16 October 2010

Natalie Portman. Drawn from photo. Finally finished today!
Posted by Picasa

Thursday, 14 October 2010

I've done some drawing today, but it's a work in progress which I should finish tomorrow...
I'd like to put something a little more polished up this time.

Wednesday, 13 October 2010


Don't know what model of car this is, but I do know I like it!
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, 12 October 2010


Aww... a kitteh from "Les Gardiens du Maser 6 - Le Village Perdu" by Massimiliano Frezzato.
Posted by Picasa

Monday, 11 October 2010


Something a bit different today: I've gone for the traditional still life (but with bananas to add a touch of modernity). This is quite a small drawing (about half an A5 page); done using only a blue coloured pencil.
Posted by Picasa

Saturday, 9 October 2010


From "Anatomy for the Artist" by Sarah Simblet. Went climbing today, so I chose this anatomy image which is vaguely related.
Posted by Picasa

Friday, 8 October 2010


The head, from "Anatomy for the Artist" by Sarah Simblet and John Davis.
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, 5 October 2010


From a photo from hji.co.uk, "Hairdresser's Journal Interactive". The hairstyle gallery on the website has some good pictures to draw from:
http://www.hji.co.uk/image-gallery/home.html
Posted by Picasa

Monday, 4 October 2010



More anatomy drawings from "Anatomy" by Joseph Sheppard. All 4 sketches are of the back of the arm.
Posted by Picasa

Saturday, 2 October 2010

Friday, 1 October 2010


Lots of mistakes in this one (drawn from a photo). I did it in layers, using pastels, coloured and graphite pencils and pen. I used whichever colours I had to hand, based on tone and not actual colour, giving this slightly unusual result. Needed a brush to apply white-out to the eyes, but couldn't find one!
Still need to do a lot of work getting proportions and shapes right at the start of the drawing.
Posted by Picasa